• Home page > Consortium > Consortium
  • Consortium

    MUSE est un projet d’un consortium européen piloté par un laboratoire français, le Centre de Recherche Astronomique de Lyon (CRAL).

    Outre le CRAL, le consortium comporte les laboratoires suivants : l’Insitut d’Astrophysique de Potsdam (AIP), l’Observatoire européen austral (ESO), l’Institut d’Astronomie ETH (Zurich - Switzerland),Laboratoire d’Astrophysique de Toulouse-Tarbes (CNRS/University Paul Sabatier - France), l’Insitut d’Astrophysique de Göttingen (Georg-August University of Göttingen - Germany), et l’Observatoire de Leiden (NOVA - Netherlands).

    CRAL - Centre de Recherche Astronomique de Lyon (France)


    The Center of Astronomical Research of Lyon (CRAL) is a research institute established by CNRS, Ecole Normale Supérieure de Lyon and University Claude Bernard-Lyon I. Research activities at CRAL concentrate on theoretical, observational and instrumental aspects of stellar, galactic and extragalactic astronomy. The development of innovative instruments is a long tradition at CRAL. The institute has pioneered the development of integral field spectroscopy with TIGER, and has since built and operates three other instruments: OASIS, SAURON and SNIFS.

    CRAL is responsible for the overall management of the MUSE project. The other major contributions include the image slicer sub system, the spectrograph opto-mechanical design and integration and the data analysis software.

    CRAL’s involvement in MUSE is funded by Institut National des Sciences de l’Univers of CNRS, the University Claude Bernard Lyon I and the Ministère de la Recherche et de la Technologie. A dedicated integration hall will be built at the Observatory site. This building is funded by the Région Rhône-Alpes, the CNRS, the city of Lyon, the Ministère de la Recherche et de la Technologie, the University Claude-Bernard Lyon I, the Grand Lyon, the twon of Saint Genis Laval and the Rhône departement.

    ESO - European Southern Observatory


    The European Southern Observatory is is an intergovernmental, European organisation for astronomical research. With eleven member countries ESO is the largest European organization in astronomy. ESO operates astronomical observatories in Chile and has its headquarters in Garching, near Munich, Germany. After its delivery and integration in Paranal, MUSE will become an ESO facility open to the whole astronomical community.

    ESO Optical Detector Team (ESO/ODT) from the Instrumentation Division is responsible for the detector system which consist of 24 detectors and their cryogenic environment. ESO Adaptive Optics Team (ESO/AOT) from the Telescope Division is also in charge of the full adaptive optics system named GALACSI which include the deformable adaptive secondary and the fours lasers.

    AIP - Astrophysikalisches Institut Potsdam (Germany)


    The Astrophysical Institute Potsdam (AIP) is a German WGL research institute in Potsdam, Brandenburg. It is located on the campus of Sternwarte Babelsberg in the immediate vicinity of Berlin. The AIP has two departments which focus on stellar and extragalactic astronomy & cosmology, with a broad coverage of theoretical and observational research fields. The AIP is also strongly involved in telescope and instrumentation projects. Members of the AIP MUSE team have experience with integral field spectroscopy since 1996 and have built the PMAS 3D spectrophotometer, now in operation at Calar Alto observatory. The AIP is coordinator of the Euro3D Research Training Network on 3D Spectroscopy, funded by the European Commission.

    Within the MUSE effort, AIP has responsibility for the development of the Calibration Unit, testing of the preassembled spectrograph-detector units, and the data reduction pipeline. Funding is provided from local resources, as well as additional support from the German Verbundforschung of the Federal Ministery BMBF, managed by PT-DESY.

    ETH - Institute of Astronomy ETH Zurich (Switzerland)


    IAG - Institut für Astrophysik Göttingen (Germany)


    The Institute for Astrophysics (IAG) of the Georg-August University of Göttingen is the institute for astronomical and astrophysical research and education in the German State of Lower Saxony. The institute activities cover the fields of solar, stellar and extragalactic astrophysics. Based on a long tradition, the research activities are fostered by numerous instrumentation developments of which the latest have been the two FORS Imager and Spectrographs for the ESO-VLT and the Quarter-Giga-Pixel camera of 1-Square-Degree OmegaCAM for the Paranal Observatory.

    In the MUSE Project, IAG holds responsibility for the design, analysis and procurement of the instrument mechanics, the support and handling structures as well as for the optics that apply the field splitting and the relay optics, feeding the twenty four spectropgraphs. These activities are based on the staff and infrastructure of the University of Göttingen and are additionally supported by the Federal Ministry for Education and Research BMBF through the ’Verbundforschung Astronomie’ managed by PT-DESY.

    LAOMP - Laboratoire d’Astrophysique de Toulouse-Tarbes (France)


    The Astrophysics Laboratory of the Midi-Pyrénées Observatory (LAOMP) located in Toulouse, is a joint research unit of CNRS/INSU and the University Paul Sabatier. LAOMP research is focused on galaxies evolution, cosmology, stars and the Sun studies, signal processing and fluid dynamic studies. LAOMP is also involved in instrument design for ground and space projects.

    LAOMP, as a CoI institute in MUSE Consortium, is in charge of the Electronic and Software Control of the whole Instrument and of the Opto-mechanical development of the Fore-Optics module.

    Activities are funded by the “Institut National des Sciences de l’Univers” of CNRS, the University Paul Sabatier (Toulouse) and the “Ministère de la Recherche et de la Technologie”.

    Leiden Observatory (NOVA - Netherlands)


    Leiden Observatory is part of Leiden University, the oldest university in the Netherlands. Research at the Observatory covers a broad range of astronomy topics: from protostars, the interstellar medium, and dynamics of our own Galaxy and nearby systems; to the large-scale structure of the universe and the highest redshift galaxies. Leiden Observatory has had a strong involvement in the development of several established instruments, such as the SAURON integral-field spectrograph, and new initiatives are extending laboratory activities into the fields of interferometry and adaptive optics.

    Leiden is responsible for designing ASSIST - the Adaptive Secondary Simulator and InStrument Testbed - which will allow the complete testing of the MUSE adaptive optics system in Europe, before shipping to the VLT in Chile. Leiden is also responsible for the interface between the MUSE spectrograph and the adaptive optics system, and for defining the top-level requirements for the adaptive optics system. Leiden also leads the instrument science team.

    Leiden’s contribution to MUSE is funded primarily by NOVA, the Netherlands Research School for Astronomy. NOVA is participating in the European 6th Framework program Second generation Adaptive Optics for 8-10 m Telescopes, which is part of the OPTICON project. Additional funding comes from NWO, the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research.

    In the same section :